5 Replies Latest reply: Aug 19, 2013 11:20 PM by peter.lehmann RSS

Need to recreate a snapmirror

TRACY.LAUGLE Novice
Currently Being Moderated

Let me start by saying that I am very new to administering NetApp filers.  I inherited this position, and I have multiple NetApps in several locations.  All of them have been set up to snapmirror to each other.  My issue is that I am on the east coast (site 1), and I have one filer on the west coast (site 3).  The latency between the two locations is huge - we had to move some data from one filer here to the one there, and it took a week to move 80GB via snapmirror.  Someone I worked with stopped a snapmirror that was set up for  a CIFS qtree on filer1 in site 1 going to filer1 in site 3, and deleted it.  I don't see that snapmirror in the list any more when I go to snapmirror status.  How do I recreate the snapmirror for this qtree?  There is already data in the volume on the destination filer - I just want it to update again.  Is this possible, or do I have to start over (a horrible idea due to the latency)?  Any help will be gratefully accepted.

• Re: Need to recreate a snapmirror
    nigelg1965 Cyclist

Shot your colleague for a start

The following could work.

Assuming you've not added or modified any other snapmirrors.

Stop snapmirror

Restore the snapmirror.conf from before the deletion (should be in previous versions)

start snapmirror again

This may help too

https://communities.netapp.com/thread/24905

TRACY.LAUGLE Novice

Thanks for your reply.  Sometimes I wish I could shoot him.

Where would I find the previous versions of the file?  I'm trying to understand - how would this work? 

I thought the file system that was snapmirrored had an archive bit set (like a backup or robocopy) so that it would know what had changed - I thought that this was why the snapmirror wouldn't work unless it was initialized?

Sorry, I hope I'm making sense.

The thread doesn't apply to my situation.

nigelg1965 Cyclist

Hi